Douro Valley Small Group Tour with Wine Tastings & Lunch from Porto - Reviews

Customer Reviews
  • Excellent 5
  • Very Good 4
  • Average 3
  • Poor 2
  • Terrible 1
  • (38)
  • (1)
  • (1)
  • (0)
  • (0)
Excellent

4.9

Add new review
Name *
Email *
Country *
Ratings (the higher the better)
Rating *
Comments *
Video
Reviewed by pilonginettes CA   October 14, 2017
Rating  
This tour was the high point of my trip to Portugal. The guides were perfect: friendly, knowledgeable, generous, fun and passionate about their country. I learned about their culture, history and specifically about the history of the Douro Valley and wine making/ Porto. The scene of the Valley is stunning - a must see in a life time. The gastronomic degustations: wines, portos, olive oil, honey, breads ... wow ... were quite an experience! I highly recommend the Douro Valley Tour.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by pilonginettes CA   December 05, 2017
Rating  
This tour was the high point of my trip to Portugal. The guides were perfect: friendly, knowledgeable, generous, fun and passionate about their country. I learned about their culture, history and specifically about the history of the Douro Valley and wine making/ Porto. The scene of the Valley is stunning - a must see in a life time. The gastronomic degustations: wines, portos, olive oil, honey, breads ... wow ... were quite an experience! I highly recommend the Douro Valley Gastronomic Tour.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by E.C Daniels US   September 09, 2017
Rating  
This ended up being a private tour b/c I was the only one to sign up but it worked out so well. The guides Beatrice was the main guide were great and very friendly. They have real connections with the wineries so it was cool to see them interacting with the families there and give some behind the scene information. The highlight was lunch at the second winery-the family estate and family themselves were lovely and more than willing to answer questions. Most of all, it was great being able to taste and buy wine from the family estates themselves -feels more authentic and special.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by paula A US   November 11, 2017
Rating  

AMAZING!! Highly recommended!! This was our highlight while in Portugal. We were after a wine tour, which we got, but so much better than any wine tour we have ever been on. We were treated like special guests everywhere. A coffee and the pastries to start, then onto an outdoor couch overlooking the vineyard with snacks and wines, and then our own private tour. The second winery we had lunch at, which we were lucky enough to have a family member of the winery join us, and sampled a selection of wine through the 3-course meal, plus a personal tour.

And the last place we sampled bread and oil while trying different wines overlooking the Douro river, and learnt the process of oil making. From door to door service, a small intimate group, viewpoints, plus of course the amazing wine, food and people.

We just loved it.

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Larry L US   October 16, 2017
Rating  

What a very diverse, long and wonderful day visiting the rarely-visited Tras-os-Montes and upper Douro regions with Beatriz, our guide/driver. Over 12 hours our small group of 4 visited 2 very friendly family farms and vineyards, plus 2 beautiful old estates with gorgeous buildings and gardens, plus a delicious and abundant lunch. We ate so much good food and sampled so much delicious wine. The scenery was also beautiful. Beatriz was a very well-informed and caring guide, always trying to make our day special, and she was an excellent designated driver as well!

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Dogberry1258 GB   July 15, 2017
Rating  
The Douro valley is absolutely spectacular. The trip takes all day, starting with coffee and pastries in Amarante, then on to visit a beautiful family owned Quinta for a terrific lunch with wines served in the beautiful family home. Then the olive oil museum with tasting and finally Sandemans, with viewpoints along the way. Our guide and driver was Beatrice, who was delightful company, very informative and a very good driver.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Laurenceff CA   June 03, 2017
Rating  
We were 2 couples looking for a wine tour around the Douro valley and we were not disappointed. Maria and Beatriz are amazing guides with all the good contacts around the country, they avoid the big industrial companies to favor small family businesses that will go the extra mile to make your visit unique. When traveling we love to avoid too touristy stuff and like to talk with the locals, live with them and get to know more about their history. This is exactly what you get with the company: great wine, great food, great people and an unforgettable day. We even booked another tour in the north of Portugal with them for the next day! You will be glad you picked them, promise!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Drbrooks4337 US   May 21, 2017
Rating  
What a beautiful tour with a knowledgeable, sensitive and intelligent guide, Beatriz. The company seeks the less touristed, small winery sites that have articulate owners or spokes persons who tell their personal stories,and family histories along with their approach to the vineyard and what varietals they grow. Our trip included a trip to Mateus, the village that mostly exported the sweet rose that brought international fame to the village. Two excellent wineries and a delicious lunch made for an ideal day-long look at this 'behind the mountains' section of northern Portugal. We highly recommend it.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by ladygerrie2017 AU   September 01, 2017
Rating  

Our wonderful guides for this tour were Antonio and Beatrice. Because there were so many of us they provided 2 cars. We didn't know what to expect but the first wine estate we stopped at was amazing then it just kept getting better.

The tour was not only tasting these delicious local wines but we also learned about how the wine and olive oils are produced which is fascinating. We were all talking about it the next day. Beatrice and Antonio were very knowledgeable about the region and the produce and they were absolutely lovely, you can tell they love what they do as they are great with people. I can't recommend this tour enough.

IF YOU'RE IN PORTO LOOK THEM UP AND BOOK WITH THEM YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED YOU'LL HAVE A FANTASTIC DAY.

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by MafsIreland IE   September 24, 2017
Rating  
Look nowhere else for a private or group tour with a touch! Antonio made our private wine trip so memorable! We visited amazing small cute vineyards with no other tourists , we felt always like we were travelling with a friend and not some mass tour company. The places we visitied were friendly, family run and very generous. Loved every minute of it, never felt rushed or that Antonio had a hidden agenda. The end of the day held an unexpected sweet surprise when we stopped at Amarante, again we felt we were there with a local friend that was showing us around. Unforgettable trip to the Douro valley with different secluded stops than most tour companies. obrigada Antonio and best of success with your business, you stand out from the rest!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Hannah W US   March 08, 2018
Rating  
We had a lovely day with Antonio and the rest of the group exploring the beautiful Douro Valley. All the stops were great and Antonio was a fantastic guide, both on the day and afterwards, going out of his way to ensure my lost jacket was brought back to Porto by another tour group. Thanks Antonio!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Matt P US   November 02, 2017
Rating  

Beatrice picked us up right on time at our hotel. Then we collected a wonderful family from Scotland and we were on way to the Douro Valley to taste wine, Port and olive oil and food. Our first stop was Amarante to view a lovely church and then some local pastries from old convent recipes.

It was a great sugar rush and gave us an appreciation for the local artistry in the area's sweets. We then walk back to our van across a small dam stretched across the river, a tributary of the Douro. Alas, we were finally on our way to our first wine tasting...and lunch! 

We had both red and white wines and an amazing local veal stew that was all but impossible not to have a second helping. Then, onto another wine tasting with a seven generation family winery that had lovely views and delicious wines. Of course, I had to buy some of the local olive oil. In addition to the wine there was some wonderful grape juice we got to taste.

Our last stop...oh but, before we get there the scenery go to each of the vineyards is stunning with the changes in elevation, the winding roads and the expanse of rows and rows of terraced vines.

So, at out last stop we got to a Port winery. Had tastes of a white port, a ruby port, a tawny port, a 10 year old white port, and lastly a LBV (late bottle vintage), which is a slight step below a vintage port. Then we headed back to Porto feeling happy, full and glad to have to spent the day with Beatrice as our knowledgeable guide and making new friends with Bill, Penny & Maddy. If you like wine and want to see what the Douro has to offer this a great way to spend a day enjoying and learning about the area.

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by cameroncalgary2017 CA   August 25, 2017
Rating  
This tour was one of the highlights of our visit to Porto. Antonio was a wonderful tour guide and a wealth of information. The small group format is exactly what we wanted. The places we visited were beautiful and having a family cook and serve us lunch in their home was so special. Arriving at the last winery on the first day of the harvest was a unexpected gift which we will never forget.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by nuckolsb DE   October 28, 2017
Rating  
Our tour guide Antonio was fantastic from start to finish. The highlight of our trip to Porto was this wine tour. We really enjoyed the intimate small group tour. Along the way Antonio shared his life experiences of growing up in Porto and Portugal's history. Plenty of opportunity for sightseeing as well as enjoying wine in Portugal countryside. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Melissa I US   November 06, 2017
Rating  
I did the douro, port, and moscatel tour, and would 100% recommend it. It was a small group, and we went to a number of local wineries, plus got to try delicious pastries and had a fantastic lunch. Our guide was hilarious and extremely personable. Plus, Douro Valley is absolutely gorgeous!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Shor12 US   October 23, 2017
Rating  

What a perfect way to spend our first day in Portugal! We booked a private wine tour. Antonio was our wonderful guide for the day. He was so personable and knowledgeable about the area and wine. Antonio and his group have a done a great job of planning a day that is filled with a good representation of the wine (4 wineries were visited) in the area along with gastronomic treats unique to the area and Portugal. We were picked up at our hotel promptly at 7:30 AM. I would definitely recommend this tour if you are looking for an introduction to the Douro area wine.

We got to sit back and enjoy the scenery without getting lost and learn about the area. It was perfect! Thank you, Antonio!

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Hayley M US   June 23, 2017
Rating  
Antonio was a wonderful driver and guide who had plenty of information about the region, the wine and port, and history. In addition prior to the trip went to extra effort to accommodate me.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Tina C CA   March 01, 2018
Rating  

We spent an entire day with Antonio (driver/guide), visiting four wineries, an olive oil facility (historic) and a wonderful lunch in one of the quintas. The Douro valley in the fall was beautiful, we had missed much of the harvest but there were still grapes on some vines and the fall colours had just started (late September). Antonio was a very informative guide, with much insight as to the culture and history of the region. It is clear he is passionate about wine production and knowledge. We were just three participants, so the tour was very personal and all our questions were answered. There were many photo opportunities. It was a packed itinerary, but a quick stop in Amarante gave us the chance to see the church and visit a cafe to have a coffee and locally made baked goods.

This was definitely a highlight of our trip to Portugal - this company, while I believe relatively new, is knowledgeable, interesting and fun. Recommended!

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by franthecat2017 US   November 19, 2017
Rating  

We traveled with Antonio yesterday to Douro and had a perfect day. He arranged tours with family-run operations which made the entire tour personal. We had three tastings and each visit was unique. The second tasting included a homemade Portuguese lunch of a charcuterie with a tasty pumpkin jam, delicious seafood stew, omelette, and homemade desserts. All the ports and wine we tasted were worthy of immediate purchase and we had to restrain ourselves. Antonio picked us up on time at our hotel and was an expert driver maneuvering the narrow winding roads of the valley. He was pleasant, thoughtful, and knowledgeable about wine and port making. This tour was much more than wine tasting. The first stop at Amarante was a treat. We had coffee and pastries and the walk through the quaint town was truly memorable.

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Geni H US   February 25, 2018
Rating  
We picked this tour because it was not the "cookie cutter" wine tour out of Porto. The tour and our wonderful guide Beatriz far exceeded our expectations. In Tras-Os-Montes, we toured the vineyard and sampled the different grapes straight from the vines with the owner. Then, rather than the usual tasting, we sampled new wines straight from the vats, just as the winemaker does during the early stages of the process. Lunch was wonderful, as was a later visit to an Alta Douro quinta that makes sparkling wine by the champagne process. It was a real highlight of our visit to Porto.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by funinmpls CA   October 03, 2017
Rating  
My wife and I joined several others for a great, long day. Beatriz (I think I am spelling it right) was great. The tour was focused on small providers which we really appreciated. The food was good, but not exactly a ‘gastronomic’ experience. However, we came for the wines and to see the Douro region. We were not disappointed. The pick up and drop off made it even better. Would highly recommend.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Alex H US   December 02, 2017
Rating  
The tour was amazing thanks to our wonderful tour guides, Antonio and Beatriz! They were personable, knowledgeable and prompt. It was so nice to be picked up from our hotel and to experience the Douro Vally from the eyes of experts. We not only were able to see the vineyards and wineries but also was able to be immersed in the culture of the towns and learn about the extensive history of the area. We truly believe this was the best part of our vacation and would highly recommend this tour to others!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Jun Cruz US   September 16, 2017
Rating  

We had a wonderful time visiting the Douro Valley region of wineries. Communication with the company was prompt prior to the trip. Our guide and driver Beatriz picked us up right on time at our hotel. Kudos to her for driving safely all day long while we all took naps. The first stop in a little town of Amarente. Very picturesque and quaint. Beautiful reflection of the town on the river.

We walked around the little downtown, then had coffee and sweets at the cafe, then walked across the river on the pathway back to the car. Then off to the first winery.

The drive to the Douro Valley is stunning. Every corner can be a viewpoint but Beatriz told us to be patient because she’s taking us to the best of the best look out points. The first winery was the biggest production of the three wineries we visited. But it was interesting to know the whole town works together during the harvest season to pick grapes and make wine. Of course, gorgeous view of their acres of acres of vineyards. We sampled some wine including Muscatel which was simply delicious. The second winery was even more special. Great view of the valley. So amazing. This was our lunch spot as well, hosted by none other than the winery owner/winemaker himself, Senor Antonio. Home cooked traditional Portuguese stew called Feijoada with a side of rice. Very authentic feel and authentic food. I appreciated the homey touch to this lunch experience that you cannot get a restaurant.

We enjoy interacting with the locals and experiencing the true culture. We sampled his wines throughout the lunch, ended with 10 yr old tawny port. Muito bom! This is truly a small production winery that just opened to the public. He even asked if anything else can be done to make our experience better. Sr. Antonio is so personable he wants to tell us more stories but we need to get to the next winery! Another nap, then voila we are at the next winery. Family owned winery that makes great port wines. Another stunning view of the valley from this winery. We tasted Branca, ruby, 10 yr and 20 yr tawny. Buy buy buy. The lady who poured us is one of the family members, she is very knowledgeable and explained many things to us about port. We truly enjoyed the tour itself, Beatriz’s company, her narratives in the car on the winemaking, region, history, and culture. She was attentive to our needs and made sure we were having great times.

I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for a smaller group tour experience with more intimate interaction with the wineries and tasting great wines. I will book another tour will them when I return for sure and I can’t wait!

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Uncle_Retrospective GB   September 19, 2017
Rating  
We took a shot at 360 because, 1) they were a new company and had great reviews, so worth a try and 2) they went to 3 vineyards where the others only go to 2. We're like that. But as I say, the guides were very friendly and we had a great day trip. We were very happy with it.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Shalin S US   November 29, 2017
Rating  
The tour was amazing thanks to our wonderful tour guide Antonio. He picked me up in Vila Nova de Gaia and it was great to experience the Douro Valley from the eyes of experts. Only 1 comment - less sugar super early in the morning. That would have been great after lunch. I truly believe this was the best part of my vacation and would highly recommend this tour to others!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by jarmey GB   October 09, 2017
Rating  
WOW! What a great day out with Antonio. 100% recommend. He will take you to vineyards and you will meet people who are truly passionate about wine and port. Such a great experience and a joy to meet such wonderful people, who all took the time to make us feel welcome. If like me you know very little about Portuguese wine, take this trip and be educated, you wont be disappointed. It is a full day out and if you go during the winter, it can be chilly so dress warm on the outside, and let the wine and port warm your insides.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by JimKel100 CA   October 23, 2017
Rating  
This was a vey fun and diverse tour of the Douro Valley. Yara, our host, was enthusiastic and very knowledgable. The visits to each vineyard was unique and provide a good review of the region.Highly recommended!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Vicki H US   February 24, 2018
Rating  
This was an amazing tour of the country side, wineries, olive oil producer, and the Douro River. Wonderful wines, food, and company! Highly recommend it for a lovely, affordable, all day tour.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by HappyTailsDogRanch CA   March 02, 2018
Rating  
Pastries, coffee, wine, olive oil, honey, wine, lunch w wine, port wine, chocolate, white port wine. Did I mention wine? White Port Wine? Views are amazing, people are friendly and knowledgeable. Amazing day, I learned a lot, eat a lot, drank at lot, and didn't have to drive!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by William Conrad US   March 14, 2018
Rating  
Beatriz was a wonderful guide for our day in the Douro Valley. My wife and I were alone on this tour, and it was an amazing experience! Bea is very knowledgeable regarding the area and shared her knowledge throughout the day as we traveled from area to area. The views throughout the day were amazing, and Bea knew the best spots to stop for photographs. The host guides at each Quinta were also charming and knowledgeable and shared their knowledge as we tasted their particular wines and olive oils. This was a day well spent. I would recommend this tour, and Beatriz, to anyone who wants to experience this lovely region.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Stacey Tollier US   April 18, 2018
Rating  
Awesome day out - the views from Douro Valley were incredible, I felt like I was on top of the world. I learnt so much from our guide Paulo as well - he taught us all how to taste the wine properly - something I have only ever seen in films before, but I felt really cultured and plan on using his techniques a lot in the future. It was a really educational day for all of us
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Abby bailey AU   May 31, 2018
Rating  
Any tour which includes drinking alcohol is one of the best tours you can ever take. But once you add in the views, the gorgeous green and fantastic weather and transfers back once you've tasted all the amazing wines and port - perfect day out
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by MollieD CR   July 01, 2018
Rating  
Fabulous day out. We went as a family group, including my grandparents and they just loved it. Our guide Bea was brilliant with them. My grandfather was a bit tired at times and our guide kept everything at their pace despite having a really packed schedule and we never once felt rushed. Brilliant day all round - thank you Bea for helping us successfully swill our glasses without dropping them!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Violet jade US   January 11, 2018
Rating  
We absolutely adored the Saint Goncalo Church. The monastery has a very unusual dome, covered with red tiles, and the entrance is marked by a lovely Renaissance portal. Pinhao was beautiful. The guides in all the wineries were so knowledgeable. It was a lovely memory for both of us, if a little tipsy!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by YVONNE78 IE   July 11, 2018
Rating  
Best day of our holiday! Transfers to and from our hotel, no need for that taxi home when you have drunk too much. AMAZING scenery, helpful staff, gorgeous wine. There are no words to describe how much fun we had - just do it. it will be the best day of your holiday
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Tony Miniero GB   June 23, 2018
Rating  
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this day, in an area like this wine tasting should definitely be at the top of the list. The views from the valley are also stunning - even if you are not a wine-drinker, you should do the tour just for the views. The villages also included in the tour were such an eye-opener. Very helpful staff and knowledgeable about the wineries.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by EBONNIE008 GB   July 08, 2018
Rating  
WE HAD A FANTASTIC DAY, TOOK SOME AMAZING PHOTOS, DRANK SOME GREAT WINE. GREAT SERVICE FROM ALL STAFF. 10/10 WOULD DO AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Nathalie FR   July 11, 2018
Rating  

Portuguese wine is not as good as French wine! But it is nice. French tours however, are not as good as Portuguese ones! This day was fabulous. Everything was perfect, Our guide was brilliant he helped me stand up at the end of the tour

Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Lucas Cornet BE   March 13, 2018
Rating  
Good day. Wine at times wasn't the best, but at other times good. I enjoyed the local port, and the views. Recommended for overview of Portugal people's wines
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Edward Townsend GB   April 19, 2018
Rating  
There were a couple of loud annoying Americans on our tour which quite frankly, spoiled it for my wife and I. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and assisted us well throughout the day and the places we went to were most pleasant and enjoyable. It was a shame that our day was ruined by shrill laughter throughout the day. I am aware that who joins the trip is out of the tour operators control, however there should be a certain level of control of guests once accepted.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
From
per person
 112.00
Adult (Age 18+)
Child (Age 12-17)
Infant (Age 3-11)