Rome in One Day: Vatican & Colosseum Skip the Line Group Tour - Reviews

Customer Reviews
  • Excellent 5
  • Very Good 4
  • Average 3
  • Poor 2
  • Terrible 1
  • (48)
  • (0)
  • (2)
  • (0)
  • (0)
Excellent

4.9

Add new review
Name *
Email *
Country *
Ratings (the higher the better)
Rating *
Comments *
Video
Reviewed by Milagros L US   January 04, 2018
Rating  
Both our Vatican Museums Tour and Rome Downtown Tour were very productive and educational. Both our guides, Damiano and Maximiliano were flexible as regards to the schedule and they were very accommodating. The tours were really amazing.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Rakesh M GB   January 01, 2010
Rating  
A big shout out to PrivateTours. Whether you are religious or not the Vatican, Sistine chapel and St Peters Basilica are a must see when in Rome for first time. We were met by Claudia just before 9am to go on the tour. TIP - don’t talk to the ‘Tourist Information’ people on the street, they are touts trying to get you to tour with them, and they tried to embarrass us into going with them.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by desmondsheridan US   November 24, 2017
Rating  
We had a great tour with Giorgia. She not only knew every piece in the Vatican Museum but was great at maneuvering around tourists. We got so much more out of it than if we had gone on our own.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Sandra R US   November 01, 2017
Rating  
We booked a private guided tour during our stay in Rome with our 8 year old son. During the tour my son told me " Thanks mum for the tour guide, it is so much fun". What better feedback can you get ?
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by spry13 US   October 28, 2017
Rating  
Private Tours arranged for a car to pick us up at the hotel in Rome and take us to Ostia Antica, where we met our guide Francesca for our 3 hour tour. We explained that we could move only slowly, and that we did not expect to see everything. She was very helpful and extremely patient with our slow pace. I would take this tour again.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by TonnyMannTrip GB   October 25, 2017
Rating  
We had an excellent private tour of the Vatican museums for 3 people. Elisabetta, our guide, was very informative, explained everything clearly and made the tour very enjoyable. Despite the large numbers of people at the Vatican we had no waiting around at all. Highly recommended. Thank you Privatetours.com
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by StellaMedina US   August 03, 2018
Rating  
We really enjoyed joining this tour of Vatican city to see the museum, St. Peter's basilica and the Sistine Chapel! We were blown away by the history and highlights that our tour guide, Agata, provided us with. She had so much passion in the stories she told and pointed out some amazing inside info that we would have never known without her expertise and knowledge! Highly recommend!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by lilianl134 US   May 20, 2018
Rating  
Perfect experience. Every question and concern was answered in a timely manner. The tour guide was very professional and very very interactive. Great info and keeps your attention. It's more fun to see and have info about what you are looking at and the background stories, lived it. Thank you to the great Staff too!!!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Prema D AU   July 09, 2018
Rating  
Donato is a very good guide, he kept us engaged with his nice quiz questions. He provided lot of relevant information about the Colosseum and Roman Forum. Would definitely recommend this tour for family with kids.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Amy P GB   July 25, 2018
Rating  
Do not miss a guided Vatican tour with Private Tours, and ask for MariaClaudia! She was energetic, intelligent, funny and kept our teenagers excited about the tour! They learned so much and we all thoroughly enjoyed it! Book now!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Burner4444 GB   October 20, 2017
Rating  
Awesome. Marco was a great guide. Loved the tour. Highly recommended. If in Rome go see it. More low key than a lot of the other attractions.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by chippechops US   November 14, 2017
Rating  
My partner and I had a fabulous personal tour with Mariarita an archaeologist. She was able to enlighten us enormously on the history of this ancient port and the people who lived at Ostia Antica. I would highly recommend this tour. It was wonderful and not expensive. Certainly a trip highlight.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by MarkP BE   June 13, 2018
Rating  
We had a great time with our tour guide, Donato. He was extremely knowledgeable about the Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill, and made it really interesting and enjoyable for our children (11-15). It makes such a difference having a trained archaeologist taking you around these ruins, and having him all to ourselves meant that we could ask questions as we went. Thank you, Donato and PrivateTours for a wonderful experience and we're already in the process of investigating our tours for the next time we are in Rome.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Keryyann US   August 14, 2018
Rating  
Our tour was fantastic. Our tour guide Aga (I may be misspelling her name) is an archeologist and was so knowledgeable. She was also very flexible as to explain more thoroughly parts of the Vatican that we were interested in and be more brief on other parts. She catered our tour the way we preferred and was so friendly and sweet. I highly recommend privatetours no matter what destination you choose.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by lowens2017 US   July 09, 2017
Rating  
This was my second tour with Mariaclaudia. She is a FABULOUS tour guide! She is so passionate, engaging, and extremely knowledgeable about all things Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed learning about the history, architecture, art, current and historical culture, food, etc. as we walked through Rome, visiting Colosseum , Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Navona, Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. My first experience with Mariaclaudia was with my husband and another couple. It was fabulous! This time, was a girl trip. We had a wonderful time! Mariaclaudia reminded me of some of the things I loved about Rome, and opened my eyes to even more of Rome's history and beauty. One of the highlights of our trip was when Mariaclaudia asked a priest to bless rosaries in the Sistine Chapel. The privateTour staff is great. Scheduling was easy, and the staff was very responsive to any questions you might have.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Ann S US   July 06, 2018
Rating  
I booked this for my husband and boys (11 and 13) while I was attending a conference in Rome. They cannot rate this tour highly enough. They met up with Maria at the museum and proceeded to have a highly entertaining afternoon exploring the museum. This was despite them being quite reluctant about going on a tour of the museum initially. It was undoubtedly the highlight of their visit to Rome. Maria has a wonderful knowledge of Rome, Percy Jackson and many other things and great skills working with children.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by John W GB   June 11, 2018
Rating  
We visited Rome in June and had privateTour provide a guide for the day. Anna and Francesco were absolutely awesome . We avoided the lines and crowds and were provided a first class experience all day. It is amazing what we learned and saw over 6 hours. We laughed as we would pass a tour group with the guide holding a sign with a group of 30 people being herded thru the sights listening via a walkie talkie..... and thought never again!!! Avoid the crowd and tour group and use Anna, Francesco and privateTours..... it will be the best $$ you ever spent if you hate crowds and love history!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Harini S CA   May 07, 2018
Rating  
We visited the Vatican with our two year old and this was the perfect tour - Romina was very patient with our son and went at our pace (including long breaks at the fountain my son wanted to see). We were so glad to have booked a personal tour rather then joining a group tour. Romina was very knowledgeable and could answer all of our questions while entertaining out 2yo!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Almaughan1 AU   June 19, 2017
Rating  
We booked both the Colosseum tour and Vatican tour with privatetours and both were outstanding. Our tour guide Alessandra was well informed and engaging particularly with our five year old girl. Both our children enjoyed the 3 hour tours and did not complain once of being tired. I highly recommend this company.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Dimitar G BG   April 19, 2018
Rating  
we enjoyed every minute of the tour with Anna, she was passionate, competent, friendly, able to present objectively the complicated matter of Italian history. Bravo!!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by eyeguy111 US   March 27, 2017
Rating  
Our tour guide Marta gave us 2 amazing tours, one of the coliseum and one of the Vatican, on 2 different days. From sending us pictures of exactly where to meet, to her visualizations on her iPad, she brought both tours to life with incredible detail and interesting stories about various objects and art along the tour. She was so knowledgeable and personalble, easy to talk to and knew her subject backs and forwards. She made our 2 tours in Rome experiences we will never forget. I recommend privatetour.com and Marta 100%!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by rebecca L US   March 11, 2018
Rating  
We used private Tour after my parents toured with private tour 5 years ago because of the level of detail and personal touch. Anna was up to the same standard; she was fun, personal and incredibly knowledgeable on everything she showed us. We loved our tour with her and would highly recommend.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by djf9038 GE   September 10, 2017
Rating  
We went back to Rome for a week with our brother/in-law who had never been to Europe before. We requested Marta for our Coloseo, Foro & Palatine tour, then met her again later in the week for the Vatican tour. She is so passionate about her city and the wonders it holds, it is a pleasure to be with her. Thanks again.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Lucia F US   August 04, 2018
Rating  
My 10 year old and I visited Rome for a short few days. We booked tours of Ancient Rome and the Vatican. Our guides were fantastic, knowledgeable, and super engaging with my son. I loved their attention, their interesting facts, their gifts to him, etc. Fantastic experience all around, you owe yourself to see the Vatican.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Daniela M GB   January 16, 2017
Rating  
My daughter (15) and me, we've booked two private tours in Rome: The Vatican Tour and the City Centre Tour. It was not our first time in Rome and we visited all the places several times prior our tour as we have already read books about certain places in Rome, but time that we have spent with Francesco (during both tours) was priceless to us - somehow everything felt right where it should be. We have gain deeper and broader knowledge about Rome, while enjoying ourselves and having fun. Our guide Francesco was really friendly, like a super man that knew all those little secrets about his beautiful city. Each detail was so precious to us. Next time when we will be back, as we will for sure, we will book another tour with privatetour.com , having Francesco with us. It was really educational, relaxed and fun, at the same time. Thank you peeps!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by PilarBF C ES   January 15, 2018
Rating  
We made the Ancient Rome and the Vatican tour. Francesco was our guide. He made it very interesting and fun! Even for my children! It was just great!! I recommend privatetour.com 100%
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by semckeown US   January 25, 2018
Rating  
After 3 weeks of traveling and sightseeing, I wasn't sure my 3 kids could handle another tour. While in Rome, We decided to try a private guide who could provide historical information, yet keep everyone's attention. Anna did just that! She tailored her talk to my teenage kids and their interests while remaining so passionate about Roman history. We were all enthralled by her and her knowledge that we were sad when the tour ended 3 hours later. This was the best tour money we spent and would it again!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by resemannen_80 SE   January 16, 2018
Rating  
This is not just a tour of Rome but also a history lesson. I knew almost nothing about the fascist Italy that participated in WWII and this tour filled in that gap. Our guide was very nice and he really knew his stuff. He showed lots of archive footage on his tablet as we visited various sites and everything was put into context.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by ninjasmurf SE   January 20, 2017
Rating  
privatetour.com showed us around a very different side of Rome not normally explored by the typical tourist. He was extremely knowledgeable, professional, entertaining (using various aids during the tour to express this interesting history and for atmosphere) and had a good presence about him. We learnt a lot from his tour and saw many interesting things along the way.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by kiwioakaly ZA   April 11, 2018
Rating  
Roberta took us through Pompeii. The time flew by as she entertained our 12 and 7 year old easily with lots of fun facts to help explain the town. A warm easy style, Roberta was able to impart information easily to children while then adding a bit more depth for the adults. I would highly recommend the tour and her services.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Mruth77 US   May 09, 2016
Rating  
Our tour couldn't not been better. Marta was our tour guide, she was so helpful and knowledge . We were so satisfied since the beginning of the tour.. by the end of it we felt like we had learn so much and enjoyed even more!! Thank you for a great tour!!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by maryverma O CH   November 18, 2017
Rating  
My sister, her adult daughter and I toured ancient Rome with privatetour.com . The stones spoke, the Forum seemed re-peopled, laurel & myrtle leaves plucked from bushes told stories of Roman life. He led us to the best lunch and dinner of the trip - off the beaten track.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by sergeyk826 US   July 09, 2017
Rating  
Everything was perfect: from the moment of booking until the last minute of the Vatican tour. My recommendations!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Djf09191957 GE   February 19, 2016
Rating  
We have been to Rome a number of times and we were looking to explore things outside the "classic" tours of Rome so chose the Rome Underground and Trastavere tours offered. Marta was our guide for both tours. She communicated in advance confirming our tour and meeting location via email, which was great. She speaks very good english and is extremely knowledgeable about these topics so I can imagine she would also offer great information about the Forum, Coloseum, etc...She rearranged our timing for the Trastavere tour to make sure we could get into the churches as their opening times are governed by when a service is being conducted. We really enjoyed being with Marta for two afternoons and would definitely work with privatetour.com and Marta again.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by sdcole1961 GB   August 07, 2018
Rating  
Over 2 trips we have used privatetour.com and they are the best tours in Rome/florence we have done Coliseum Tour Vatican Tours Evening fountain tour Catacombs and Florence walking tour we have taken many different tours with different operators and they never compare to privatetour the guides are exceptional; Knowledgeable and committed they always explain historical details the guides are graduates of the arts and they know their stuff They always arrange the tours to maximize what is covered whilst creating stops for drinks, ice creams etc.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Roger H CA   September 13, 2017
Rating  
Very good tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. I highly recommend this tour. There is a lot of walking but manageable. This is good for people who enjoy history.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Pasqaule D FR   January 07, 2018
Rating  
The best thing we did in Rome! Our guide was fantastic, patient and very knowledgeable, no lines to wait, I would do it again!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Alexia F CA   November 13, 2017
Rating  
Took 3 trips with this company so far and had very good experiences. We were lucky that got into a small group of 6 people that it felt like a private tour. Very nice and experienced guide.Totally recommended.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Randell B US   September 03, 2017
Rating  
The tours provided exactly as advertised and our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of locations visited. She communicated clearly and provided time to have a good look at all of the sites.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Lucy W US   March 01, 2018
Rating  
Superb tour with an amazing guide! This is a "must do" in Rome, it may be a few hours but we felt it was so worth doing. We saw so many of Rome's beautiful and historical monuments in the time we had. Our guide gave us so much information on everything we saw, he was incredibly knowledgeable and made it extremely interesting, we were completely fascinated. We would highly recommend this tour.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by C mc Gee GB   October 15, 2017
Rating  
The tour was very good. Everything was covered and a lot of time was saved as you did not have to queue.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Yana D CA   September 16, 2017
Rating  
This tour was a good value for the money and our tour guide was funny and very helpful and thoughtful! The meeting point was easy to find. The lunch was one of our more memorable ones during our visit to Italy!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Debora H GB   June 08, 2017
Rating  
Thoroughly enjoyed the tour the guide was very well presented so so knowledgeable and gave an excellent tour full marks and will definitely recommend.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Dannio M CZ   May 08, 2017
Rating  
Super service, super lunch.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Graig M VI   February 06, 2018
Rating  
Tour was an interesting easy to follow introduction to the Vatican Museums. Significant artefacts, as well as tapestry's, were highlighted along the way, skip the line is what it means. Going in through security was quick and easy and the tour guide was helpful. Superb lunch. Totally recommend this tour.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by wayne j NZ   September 13, 2017
Rating  
This is an absolute must see when visiting Rome. I suggest you book this as your first place to visit when arriving in Rome as it can be unpredictable opening times and you wouldn't want to miss it. A walk up the many tiny winding steps to the top of St. Peter's Basilica is optional but worth it for the view of the city. You need a good few hours set aside to see all this venue has to offer. The guided tour from when in Rome tours is highly recommended
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Barry H SE   August 13, 2017
Rating  
Worth it to beat queues Excellent guide, with great knowledge.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by Claudia Gaynor US   November 25, 2018
Rating  
OMG ! What an awesome day. We booked a tour of Rome (my family of 4 including a 23yr old son and 14yr old daughter). We were blessed to have a great guide pick us up from our hotel on time and with a great personality. We couldn’t have been more lucky having him, he is a wealth of knowledge and shares so much information with great passion. He truly loves Rome and what he is doing.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by JaneP GB   July 13, 2018
Rating  
Tour was great however it did feel slightly rushed sometimes, I'd have liked to stay in some areas for a little longer but we were quickly hurried along to another point. Be prepared for the crowds, they're ridiculous!!
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
Reviewed by R15 GB   September 17, 2017
Rating  
Getting the skip the line tickets was worth it, I would definitely recommend those. The tour itself, yeah very well organised but such an uncomfortable experience! Crowds and heat are not a good mix. Also, so much walking to do.
Name *
Email *
Country *
Comments *
Captcha
From
per person
 86.00
Adult (Age 8+)
Child (Age 3-7)
Infant (Age 0-2)